top of page

The Window Screen

I am bright when the sun looks at the Earth

The curtains are drawn, covering the dark dirt

I am transparent, I am the truth

But never am I publicised for covering up telephone booths

I do not divide the views of one

Truth can also be of no use to one

But no one thinks about me

And so they don't care about me

I am left alone during night

While I protect people from the sandstorm's might

Heavy rains and thunderstorms break me to pieces

And lest, is anyone bothered about me going through this

When the sun shines bright in the sky

Then only I am cleaned for them to enjoy

While I absorb the heat shot by the sun

If I ever had legs, I would shout for shelter and run

I am doing my duties and never complain

As I was ought to do for what I was made

Sand was melted to make me colourless and plain

While my recognitions goes on to fade

If I ever had life to go out and speak

Then I would want myself to be talking on TV

While the lost rights are being returned

The acknowledgment of my existence is what I am concerned.

I would stand on the podium and shout on the mic

My voice stronger then the engines of the bike

I will tell the world that I am a window screen

Without me, little can things be made or seen.

Poet: Adeep S.L

About the poem:

The Window Screen is a poem written to signify the importance of tolerance in daily life and how we tend to lack in it. Through this poem, he refers to the window screen which is apparently tolerant to any and every problem faced by it. Thus, the window screen stands as an inspiration for humans to look at to shape their lives better and also go on to change the world positively.


bottom of page