top of page

Calling Home

Month: 4

Day: 2

Visa status: Visit

Balance: Negligible - Non existent

"Things are really great here, mom. The people are nice and everybody speaks with a lot of respect. They've offered me a good salary and if I work hard I might even get promoted by the end of the year because the contract of one of my seniors is coming to an end. “

“----------------------x--------------------------x---------------------------x--------------------"

“You worry too much. I'm okay.

How's dad? Is he still mad at me for leaving? Tell him I'm sorry. No, tell him his son will make him proud. Tell him I love him. “

“----------------------x--------------------------x---------------------------x--------------------“

“No, I'm not crying. I've just caught a little cold. That's all. We were actually at an office party last night and I got home late. “

“----------------------x--------------------------x---------------------------x--------------------“

“Oh mom, don't worry. I didn't drink much. Just one glass, I swear.

Did I tell you about the flat? It's huge. The company takes care of everything. You have to see it. I will send you pictures on Sweety's phone. She must be on it right now too, isn't she? That's all she ever does. Tell her to go study. Her exams are due next month. “

“----------------------x--------------------------x---------------------------x--------------------“

“I'm telling you. You're spoiling her. (Beep! Beep!) Hey listen, I have to go now. I have to wake up early tomorrow. I have a big presentation. Love you mom. Bye.”

“--------x--------"

Every year, thousands of immigrants from all over the world travel to the UAE in the hopes of finding economic success. But success doesn’t come easy, especially for those that arrive on a visit visa.

The above conversation is a partly fictional account of one such unemployed visitor calling home from the UAE.

Story Teller: Abinash Shrestha

bottom of page