top of page

Letter to an Ex-Best friend

I remember the first day I came to know about you, long before even we knew each other. Just another person who existed in this online world filled with kinds and kinds of people. Oh and rewinding back to the day we first spoke? well, that just happened. At that time, for me, you were just another person I spoke to, but little did I know it was a huge roller coaster we were about to hit soon. It was really unimaginable that someone like you would make a huge difference in my life. From hey's to I love you's, from never again's to it's over, we've come a long way.

Thinking about how fast our time together ticked off makes me so ticklish in the tummy. Well, for a lot of reasons it was the best and the worst time of my life. Best because you were there and worst because our time was too short. But whatever it was, it was really a life changing phase for me. From those little code words that no one knew to the late night laughs, from the funny memes we tagged each other in, to the clingy good nights we texted each other on how both of us meant something great to each other, everything seems like it just happened yesterday.

Life's been a real upside down after we parted our ways and I always look for ways to tell you how my day was or where I am as a person today. But sadly, our doors to each other are now closed by us and sealed with fate. Our journey together was great, but maybe it was just a few pages long.

But I guess that’s life. Nothing is constant and no one owes you anything. And even though we’re not friends anymore, I still want to thank you. Thank you for being my best friend and dealing with everything that comes with that. Thank you for the nights we stayed up just talking and laughing. Thank you for being honest and genuinely caring about me. Thank you for taking me for who I am and not judging me on what others said to me/about me. And thank you, for being the best friend I needed during that part of my life.

People in life come and go, but the ones that stay are the ones that glow, but I say, even the ones who leave a mark on us are the ones that glow too. People change with time and so do their priorities, but the mark left never leaves. Thank you for leaving that strong mark on me.

Fast forward days and months from now, we'll be in our ways, on our on journeys to our careers carving our own paths. We'll have new people in our lives, we'll probably carry some old ones with us too, but I'm so glad that the memories you will look at and smile years from now, some parts of it will have my name too

I hope someday the thought of me will get tears in your eyes and the nostalgic smile on your face and I hope by then every gap will be filled soon. I hope someday we'll meet again. Remember if you ever need someone to pick you up when you're down, I'll always be here, all ears.

Until we meet again,

With love,

Ex-Bestfriend

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Story Teller: Samreen Khimani

bottom of page