top of page

The World I am Seeing

I, Ali Hamid, am going to talk about how I have seen the world go through the process of metamorphosis. The landscape of the world has changed in a lot of ways. Ever since the time of the cavemen till today’s time of successful men and women, the world has become much more than what it was. Today, the world is talked about not only its advancements in technology but also how it’s treated itself. Now, I’m referring to the world in terms of human beings not the Earth, in case you thought I’m alien from outer space. I know I know we all were born and brought up as smart human beings but sometimes I doubt we are even smart or, to kick it up a notch, even human.

Nowadays, we humans are witness to some of the worst events ever to occur in history. From killing blacks to refugees to India VS Pakistan, our generation is not able to fathom the causes behind these issues. Our generation is being forced to sit on its backside and not having a voice in all that is happening. Promises are being made but yet the world is oblivious to how these young teenagers who they think are sitting and are stuck on their devices can actually turn the world around in an instant.

The elder world thinks what they are doing is right and the world is perfect but they are wrong. I want to meet the person who said this and say to him, “Sorry your system is malfunctioning and it is in dire need of a reboot.” They underestimate the power of the young generation. The young generation however, is sort of biased when it comes to these issues. I would divide in 3 different categories:

1: Those who want to do something about them: These people belong to this category for one sole purpose. To give their opinions and correct the rights and wrongs of other’s thinking. These men and women care about the world and wish for a better and peaceful one for the future. They make sure that their voices are heard and ensure that necessary steps are taken to a successful mission.

2: Those who don’t care about them: Ah, these ones, busy in the world of Snapchat, Facebook, WhatsApp and Instagram (briefly known as Social media). They do know what is going on around them and sympathise with the people suffering but when it comes to showing their sympathy, they suddenly vanish from sight. Not even a trace of them can be found and even if we do manage to find them they make a bunch of excuses and leave.

3: Those who want to help but are helpless: Now, these people yes they do care, yes they want to help but due to other problems or due to financial issues cannot do anything about it. They feel miserable and try to help in any way possible.

I would classify myself as a Category 2 person up till some time ago. I had gone through a lot of things and after that I decided to change myself and became a Category 1 person. By taking small steps to bigger leaps, helping the world effort by effort.

And therefore this is what the world looks like to me. It does require a few changes and all we need is a little convincing. And there is no better time for it then now.

bottom of page